Parmesan Roasted Asparagus

Parmesan Roasted Asparagus

ER-MAH-GERRRD!! You guys, I had no clue how delicious these things would turn out. I’d never made asparagus before, the sound of the word alone made me turn up my nose.

I’d seen people wrap their asparagus in bacon before. Though it seemed tempting for a second, pork and I just don’t agree. So what’s a girl to do with a new piece of produce?

Cover it in cheese & roast that bad boy!

I received my asparagus as part of another veggie haul from a friend of the family. I’m glad I got it when I did because I’d just finished paying bills, and I had about $7 to my name. While I’m certain that my love would have no problem at all bringing home a pizza, I just cringe when I see too many food purchases on the bank statements, especially when there’s a kitchen full of food. Y’all know how I am about my coins, so I figured hey…time to make a miracle happen in this kitchen.  

PREP TIME

My asparagus was right on the edge of going bad, so if this ever happens to you, know that you can still salvage it by washing off the liquid really well in the sink, and cutting off the stems and tips. Be advised, produce going bad (especially the green stuff) will stink. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.  

ROAST IT BABY

This one took no time at all. I ended up pairing it with a zucchini/squash casserole that I’d previously made on Sunday, and some honey garlic potatoes. Definitely making this simple side dish again!

parm asp 2

Ingredients

(I didn’t really measure anything this time, so use your best judgment on what works for you)

parm asp 1

Asparagus

Sea Salt

Black Pepper

Olive Oil

Shredded Parmesan

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Prep Asparagus by washing and cutting down to size
  3. Place asparagus spread out on greased cookie sheet
  4. Drizzle olive oil, salt, and pepper
  5. Bake for 10-15 minutes
  6. Remove from oven
  7. Sprinkle shredded parmesan over asparagus
  8. Return to oven for another 10 minutes

And enjoy!

Stay (mostly) meatless!

-A

Leave a Reply

