Brown Sugar Baby Carrots

Brown Sugar Baby Carrots

I have a close friend of the family who is like a mom to me. Lately, she’s been receiving an abundance of leftover produce from her employer, items that regularly would go bad or be thrown out. Luckily for me, she had me in mind. She will call or text me at work to let me know that she has another haul of veggies and that she’s headed my way.

First of all, y’all just don’t know how this generosity blesses me AND my wallet. That’s grocery shopping I don’t have to do! (Cues shout music)

fresh carrots
Ehh..what’s up doc?

Her most recent haul included a large bag of carrots. This bag was huge, and a bit overwhelming. Now I couldn’t be out here in these streets on my Bugs Bunny ministry, chomping down on these bad boys, so I took some time to prep said carrots & came up with a game plan.

I’ll be real with you guys, prepping your produce is a pain, but it’s definitely worth it because it ends up saving you time during the week. I’ve found that if I don’t buckle down and get on with my prep, I’m less likely to ever touch that piece of produce during the week, and it ends up sitting in the crisper until it’s not salvageable. How many times have you all done the same exact thing? Bought a bunch of fresh produce, put it in the fridge, and never touched it again?

Yeah, I’m not about that life.

For me, prepping fresh carrots means thoroughly washing them in the sink. Then I cut off the stems and tips using a large knife. Next, using a potato peeler, I’ll peel each carrot so that it’s void of any brown spots or imperfections. Depending on the recipe, I’ll then cut the carrots down to size

cut carrots

Of course, you can always just buy a pack of baby carrots, but preparing them yourself can save you a few coins. I just so happened to receive mine completely unprocessed, so some sort of prep was necessary. Honestly, I’ve got more carrots than I know what to do with, so bear with me because carrots might be the star of the show for the next few recipes I post.

Haters gon hate, but I don’t really carrot all. (lol see what I did there?)

 

Stumped & in need of a side dish? Check out this easy carrot recipe using only 5 ingredients. 

Give it a try & drop a comment to let me know if you love it!

brown sugar baby carrots

Brown Sugar Baby Carrots

Ingredients:

  1. 1 package baby carrots, or regular carrots cut to size
  2. 1/2 cup butter
  3. 3 tablespoons honey
  4. 1/2 cup brown sugar
  5. Chopped dill

Directions:

  1. Wash, peel, and cut carrots if necessary
  2. Place carrots in large pot of salted water
  3. Bring carrots to a boil, about 10-15 minutes
  4. Drain
  5. Return empty pot to stove
  6. Melt butter
  7. Stir in honey & brown sugar
  8. Add carrots and stir to coat
  9. Allow carrots to cook another 5 minutes
  10. Garnish with dill

Stay (mostly) meatless 🙂

-A

Leave a Reply

